THE MAKING OF A MAN

My arms were loaded with 7 or 8 aluminum chafing pans and wire racks that my friend returned to me. They clearly were not heavy just awkward. As I made my way along the narrow, curvy walk way of the park balancing the pans, a boy about 10 on a blue mountain bicycle appeared to peddle directly towards me. I actually stepped off the walkway into the unkempt grass to avoid being hit by him as I cursed under my breath. Of course, my first thought was, I know he sees me with all these pans. Before I could even finish the thought, another boy about the same age started walking directly towards me as though he was going to just knock me down. Now, I’m thinking, what in the world is wrong with these kids?

I mean, this kid was on a mission. He had a look of determination on his face as he made a bee line towards me. I’m wondering if this kid is just actually going to knock me down. When he got closer to me he held out both arms and said, “Let me take those for you.” He didn’t wait for me to answer which probably was a good thing because I think my mouth was still wide open in disbelief. This 10-year-old boy grabbed the pans and the wire racks out of my hands and walked with me as I went to put them in my Jeep.

I thanked the kid profusely. I wanted to know his name, his mother’s and father’s names, hell, I wanted to know what made him help me. He told me that he could barely see my face above the stack of pans and he didn’t want me to fall. What?! This kid gives me hope. He is already on his way to becoming a man. I see so many young people who seem to have no respect for adults these days. They talk and act any kind of way with little or no repercussion. I don’t blame the children as much as I blame their parents.

Parents, teach your children how to be men and women. And, just for the record, make sure you are modeling appropriate behavior in front of them because values are caught and not taught. It is not enough to do as a say, not as I do.

Brandon, thank you for helping me so willingly and not looking for anything in return. Thank you for giving me hope, and thank you to your parents for raising a respectful kid and for teaching you to be a man…

I’m just sayin’……

Leave a comment